Project locations


Natura 2000 is a network of areas important for the conservation of endangered species and habitats of the European Union. The four areas of the Natura 2000 network designated for the protection of the Balkan Terrapin in the Dubrovnik-Neretva County are Gornji Majkovi and Prljevići and Sniježnica and Konavosko field, where Balkan Terrapin has been found, then the Neretva Delta, where no individuals have been confirmed, and the SE part of Pelješac - Ston, where until recently the species was considered locally extinct.

In addition to these project areas in Dubrovnik-Neretva County, where the Public Institution for Management of Protected Natural Areas of the Dubrovnik-Neretva County is based, there is also the City of Zagreb, home base of other project partners - University of Zagreb's Faculty of Agriculture, Hrvatske Vode, Association Hyla, and Zoological Garden of Zagreb. A breeding program for the Balkan Terrapin will be implemented here, in the project area of the Zoological Garden. All these areas are included in the project to ensure a comprehensive approach to the protection of this species.


Please sign in to your account

This site uses cookies and other tracking technologies to assist with navigation and your ability to provide feedback, analyse your use of our products and services, assist with our promotional and marketing efforts, and provide content from third parties. Cookie Policy.